City Council Responsibilities

Form of Government

The City operates under the council-manager form of government, with a seven-member council elected to four-year terms. There are four district positions and three at-large positions. For more information regarding City Council Districts, click here. The council adopts ordinances, sets the annual budget, and directs the City through the city manager.

The mayor serves a two-year term and is elected to the position by the council. The City Council positions are nonpartisan and council members are elected to their respective positions by all of the voters within the City at the general election. Members of the City Council serve part-time and do not maintain office hours at City Hall.