Planning Commission

The Planning Commission reviews and makes recommendations to the City Council concerning land use issues including zoning, code changes and revisions to the comprehensive plan.  The Planning Commission also serves as the hearing body for quasi-judicial matters such as conditional use permits.  The members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council and serve four year terms.


  • 2nd Tuesday at 6:30 PM
  • Sunnyside Law and Justice Center
    Municipal Court / Council Chambers
    401 Homer St.
    Sunnyside, WA 98944

Staff Liaison

Planning & Community Development Supervisor
818 E. Edison Ave.
Sunnyside, WA 98944
Ph: (509) 837-7999
Fx: (509) 836-6383


  • DeAnn Hochhalter, Chair, June 30, 2023
  • Roland Rogers, June 30, 2024
  • David Rand, June 30, 2022
  • Roy Campos, June 30, 2023
  • Jeff Matson, June 30, 2022
  • Brittan Moore, Vice Chair, June 30, 2024
  • Tom Dolan, June 30, 2024

Membership Details

The Planning Commission was created under Chapter 2.50.100 of the Sunnyside Municipal Code. Five appointees must reside in the Urban Growth Area or within the City limits and two appointees may reside within the Sunnyside School District Area. Contact the Staff Planning Liaison for information regarding serving on the Planning Commission.